RSS

Apple Butter

02 Oct

So, we decided to go apple picking on Friday in Tehachapi. Needless to say, we ended up with a huge amount of apples. So far, I have made an apple crumb cake (http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/apple-coffee-cake-with-crumble-topping-and-brown-sugar-glaze-recipe/index.html) without its brown sugar glaze. I also made some apple butter that I plan on freezing. I might even make some more of it because it came out so delicious! Next time I will use a food processor though. Cutting all these apples took me 2.5 hours!

I followed a recipe on allrecipes.com that I found with a TON of awesome reviews. I changed some things based upon what the reviewers were saying and I think it came out amazing.

The original recipe is here: All Day Apple Butter

Here is mine, based upon this one.

5lbs of red and green apples, peeled, cored and diced into tiny squares (It was about 4 apples per pound, I think)
2 cups of white sugar
2 rounded teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon salt

Put all the apples into the insert for a slow cooker. In a smaller bowl, mix the sugar, spices and salt. Pour the spices over the apples and mix thoroughly. Cover the slow cooker and cook on high for 2 hours. Turn it down to low and cook for another 9-12 hours. The longer it cooks, the more concentrated it will taste. I cooked mine for a total of 14 hours. You can store it for at least 6 months in the fridge in an airtight container. It stays indefinitely in the freezer. I am storing mine in Ziploc Twist n Loc 2 cup containers. This recipe gave me 4 of these.

I hope some of you get to make this because it is super easy and super delicious. I have already had it on toast for breakfast this morning and also, on a turkey and mozzarella sandwich for lunch. 😀

Apple Butter start!

Apple Butter finish!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 2, 2011 in General Food

 

Leave a Reply

 
