RSS

Poppy-Tarts!

24 Aug

I have been wanting to make pop-tarts for a really long time and today in the IRC, people were talking about making them. They inspired me to get off my butt and try it. I found quite a few recipes but I decided on the one at SmittenKitchen.com Her recipes are generally awesome so I had lots of faith in this one as well.

I followed the directions pretty much exactly. I agree with adding some whole wheat flour to the crust next time. It would make them hearty and a little more healthy as well. I didn’t chill the dough between mixing and rolling them out but the dough was perfect. I also decided to egg wash the tops of them and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top of each tart.

I HIGHLY recommend baking up the leftover crust edges with cinnamon and sugar (I used vanilla sugar). They are so delicious that I can barely stop eating them!

Pics!

365: Picture 216

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2011 in General Food, The Bakery!

 

Leave a Reply

 
