RSS

Bagels!

25 Jul

I was making bagels from Serious Eats and I noticed that the grams and ounces were off. When I measured the ounces, and switched my scale to grams, it was not the same as the recipe. Since I have friends in Australia, I figured I would remeasure everything and put up the correct gram measurements.

Bagels!
Adapted from Serious Eats:
19.25oz [548g] bread flour (3 1/2 cups)
1/4oz [10g] instant dry yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons; or 1 envelope active dry)
1/2oz [17g] sugar (2 tablespoons)
1/2oz [7g] salt (1 teaspoon)
12 ounces hot water (1 1/2 cups, 120°–130°F)
2 Tablespoons Maple Syrup (I don’t use the malt syrup because I cannot find it here)

Add the bread flour, yeast, sugar, and salt to a mixing bowl. Turn the mixer on to mix it up a little, then add the water slowly. Let it mix until it just comes together then mix it for 5 minutes on medium speed. I don’t have a food processor so I figured out a way to make the mixer work for it.

Transfer the dough ball to an oiled bowl and cover it with plastic wrap. Let it rest for an hour or so (longer doesn’t hurt it), until it doubles in size. Once that happens, fill the pot with water and then add the syrup to it. Set it on the stove to heat up and by the time you have the bagels shaped, it should be boiling.

Work the dough on a floured surface. I usually form it into a log and cut it into 10 equal(as equal as I can get them) pieces. Then I roll each piece out into a rope and wrap it around my hand to form a circle. Then roll it on the cutting board until it comes together. The diagram in the original recipe is a really great way to learn how to do this.

When all the bagels are shaped, start cooking them in the boiling water for one minute each, turning them halfway through. I usually take them out and put them onto a kitchen towel. While they are still wet, I put on whatever toppings I want (minced dried garlic or onion, sesame seeds, salt) and put them on the pan to bake. I bake them at 400F for 15-20 minutes and I do not flip them over to get them brown on the bottom. They always end up completely browned nicely.

They are delicious bagels and I love that serious eats shared it with us!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 25, 2011 in The Bakery!

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
