RSS

Asian Chicken Salad

03 Apr

I couldn’t think of anything new to make for dinner tonight. I asked Carter to choose something for me to make and started listing things: Meatloaf? No. Meatballs? No. Pasta? No. Roasted Chicken? No. Grilled Chicken? No. Then he said why not Chinese Chicken Salad? So I went to the store and got a chicken, mandarin oranges, and almonds. Now that I know how to roast a chicken, I can’t justify buying an already made one from the store so I got a raw one. I stuffed some butter, garlic and lemon thyme under the skin, salt and pepper on the outside, and chopped some carrots, celery, and onions into big chunks for in the pan around the chicken. Fresh and Easy has some amazing quality meats with no hormones and all that good stuff PLUS they don’t give you all the gross organs inside the chicken. It comes already trussed and ready to bake! 😀 I started it at 400F for the first 15-20 minutes then lowered the temp to 375F. It roasted for about an hour and a half before it reached 165F.

While the chicken was baking, I got the salad ready. I used a highly modified version of This Recipe

Ingredients for the salad:
1 head iceburg lettuce, chopped or shredded (however you like it)
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
4 medium carrots, grated
5 green onions, chopped
20 Wonton skins, sliced and baked
1 cup Dole Mandarin Oranges in juice, drained (one single serving cup)
a handful of sliced almonds

Combine the first four ingredients in a large bowl. Toss til combined.

Ingredients for the dressing:
6 tablespoons hoisin sauce
4 tablespoons crunchy peanut butter
3 teaspoons brown sugar
1.5 teaspoons hot chile paste
1.5 teaspoons ground ginger
5 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
2 tablespoons sesame oil

Mix all the ingredients in a jar and shake it til it is mixed nicely. I had to use a spoon to break up my peanut butter because I keep it in the refrigerator. It will be super thick. If it is thicker than you like, you can add a touch of water to it, like I did.

When the chicken finished, I let it cool for a few minutes and then broke it down to get rid of all the bones.

As the chicken was cooling and being broken down, I baked some wonton skins that I had sliced up in the 375F oven for 10 minutes. This gave me fantastic crispy wontons without having to deep fry them!

To put the salad together, I layered the salad mixture on the plate, then added however much chicken Carter and I wanted. After the chicken, came the oranges and almonds, sprinkled randomly around the plate. I put the wonton skins around the outside of the plate so they wouldn’t get soggy with the dressing. It turns out that this is probably not necessary because the dressing is so thick. Finally, the dressing got drizzled on top and it was done!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2011 in General Food, Meals!

 

Leave a Reply

 
