RSS

The Best Steak EVER

17 Aug

So, by special request, I made a steak tonight. A friend of mine from the IRC (Hi, podman405!!) asked me if I wanted to make a steak tonight for dinner and he would follow the same recipe. At the end of the night, we would see whose steak looked better. I don’t mean to toot my own horn but damn that steak was good.

My steak was a .72lbs NY Strip. It was the second smallest one in the case. We followed the directions on the food network’s bastard child website http://www.food2.com for the Perfect Steak in a Skillet.

Ingredients:

New York strip steak, room temperature
Fresh ground pepper (not too fine)
Sea salt or kosher salt
Canola oil (I used about 3 Tbsp)
1 tablespoon butter
3 cloves garlic, unpeeled
A few sprigs fresh thyme
Special Equipment: seasoned cast iron skillet (10 inches in diameter)
*Instead of salt and pepper I used Montreal Steak Seasoning. I know this is a dangerous thing because the garlic and other spices in the mix can burn fast but it worked out for me this time*

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Coat the steak with pepper and then with a heavy sprinkling of salt. Heat the cast iron skillet until extremely hot (approximately 10 minutes). Add oil to the pan. Sear the steak on the first side 1 to 2 minutes until it develops a nice crust. Flip it, baste it with the oil, top with butter, garlic and thyme and place in the oven. Check every 2 minutes; cook to desired temperature *I cooked mine in the oven for 3 minutes total and it was PERFECT* Let the meat rest until the juices redistribute and slice across the grain on a slight bias. *About 5 minutes resting time*

Chef’s Note: “Warning: Please heat your pan cautiously. 10 minutes or under will suffice. Any longer and the oil could catch fire! Have a fire extinguisher ready, just in case.” <—-This is good advice!! It tends to smoke a little.

I also made my garlic mushrooms and a salad to go along with it. OK! Pics!

Pics of podman405’s steak can be found here: STEAKS!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 17, 2009 in General Food, Meals!

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
