RSS

Brownies for Aussies

05 Aug

I promised TastyWheat I would make him and CoRDS some brownies for their trip to the USA next week so I thought I should do a practice run. I used a new recipe AND a new pan!! Both turned out to be awesome. The recipe is from good ole Alton Brown. I added one Rolo candy to each brownie before I baked it. I totally tried to sift the brown sugar but it was not working with me. In the end, I just threw it in. I haven’t tasted them yet but they sure do look good.

Cocoa Brownies
Recipe courtesy Alton Brown

Cook Time:
1 hr 0 min

Serves:
16 brownies

Ingredients
* Soft butter, for greasing the pan
* Flour, for dusting the buttered pan
* 4 large eggs
* 1 cup sugar, sifted
* 1 cup brown sugar, sifted
* 8 ounces melted butter
* 11/4 cups cocoa, sifted
* 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
* 1/2 cup flour, sifted
* 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Butter and flour an 8-inch square pan.

In a mixer fitted with a whisk attachment, beat the eggs at medium speed until fluffy and light yellow. Add both sugars. Add remaining ingredients, and mix to combine.

Pour the batter into a greased and floured 8-inch square pan and bake for 45 minutes. Check for doneness with the tried-and-true toothpick method: a toothpick inserted into the center of the pan should come out clean. When it’s done, remove to a rack to cool. Resist the temptation to cut into it until it’s mostly cool.

Pics!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 5, 2009 in The Bakery!

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
