RSS

Raviolis with a cool sauce

01 Aug

I watched Giada De Laurentiis make this recipe this morning on her show on the food network. I made a couple of minor changes to the recipe but for the most part, it is the same. I also wrote a review on the food network for it!! I used Wild Mushroom Angliotti ravioli from Buitoni for my ravioli. I couldn’t find arugula at the market so I used Spinach. Also, I used fresh tomatoes that I had sitting around instead of diced canned. I added 2 cloves of garlic to the recipe as well. It was slightly salty but that could have been from the pancetta I used.. Who knows. I only used half the amount of pancetta the recipe called for though because I only bought one package… I didn’t realize that it was supposed to be 6oz! XD

Ravioli with Arugula, Tomatoes and Pancetta

Recipe courtesy Giada De Laurentiis
Show: Giada at Home Episode: Busy Day Menu
Yield: 4 to 6 servings

Cook: 20 min
Total: 30 min

Ingredients
* 1 pound cheese ravioli
* 6 ounces thinly sliced pancetta, chopped
* 1 (15-ounce) can diced tomatoes, drained
* 3 tablespoons olive oil
* 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, plus extra for seasoning
* 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus extra for seasoning
* 3 cups arugula
* 1/2 cup thinly sliced fresh basil leaves, divided
* 2 tablespoons butter, at room temperature

Directions

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the ravioli and cook for 7 to 9 minutes until tender. Drain.

In a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat, add the pancetta and cook stirring frequently, until crispy, about 8 minutes. Remove to paper towels to drain. Add the tomatoes, olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper and cook for 2 minutes until tender. Add the arugula and 1/4 cup basil and cook until wilted, about 30 seconds. Stir in the butter and melt. Add the ravioli and cooked pancetta and toss until coated. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Transfer the ravioli to a large serving bowl. Garnish with the remaining basil and serve.

PICS (since I did it on the webcam, I totally didn’t take pics of the steps but I got final plating ones.)!

Wow, Blurry.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 1, 2009 in General Food, Meals!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
