RSS

Snowflakes and Chocolate

15 Jan

I decided that I wanted some cookies so I went ahead and made some of Alton Brown’s graham crackers and some chocolate chip cookies from a recipe Laurgasms gave to me. The recipe for the graham crackers is already posted here (https://jheregeats.wordpress.com/2008/11/22/baked-goods/) but I will post the recipe for the cookies. The link I was given for the recipe is: http://easypeasyrecipes.wordpress.com/2008/12/13/the-best-chocolate-chips-cookies/ When I made them, I did about a tablespoon of dough per cookie. I made them about the same size as the Nestle Toll House ones I usually make. I am working on cooking times because this recipe says to bake them at 325F for an undisclosed amount of time. I baked mine at 350F for 8-10 minutes. I wouldn’t go much farther than 10 minutes tho because they dry out in the center pretty fast. Also, I used mini chocolate chips and that seemed to work out better for me. Another friend made this same recipe with white chips and macadamia nuts which he said was super awesome.

Ingredients
2 cups plus 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
12 Tbsp (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted cooled until warm
1 c brown sugar, packed
1/2 c granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 yolk
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chip

Directions
1. Adjust oven racks to upper & lower -middle positions; heat oven to 325. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
2. Whisk dry ingredients together; set aside.
3. With electric mixer, or by hand, mix butter & sugars until thoroughly combined.
4. Beat in egg, yolk and vanilla until combined.
5. Add dry ingredients; beat at low speed just until combined. Stir in chips.
6. Roll 1/2 cup dough into ball. Holding dough ball in fingertips of both hands, pull into 2 equal halves. Place formed dough onto cookie sheet, leaving room between each ball.
7. Bake, reversing position of cookie sheets halfway through baking, until cookies are light golden brown and outer edges start to harden yet centers are still soft and puffy.
8. Cool cookies on sheets until able to lift without breaking and place on wire rack to cool.

Chocolate Chip cookies:



Graham crackers:





 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2009 in The Bakery!

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
