RSS

Mushies and Asparagus

16 Nov

So today, on the advice of Thorn, I attempted my first ever risotto. I was a little intimidated because while the food I make looks awesome and is delicious, most of the recipes are really simple. I chose this recipe because Thorn said it was super awesome and easy. It is a recipe from Alton Brown (who I love, if you couldn’t already tell). I took a lot of pictures of this one because I thought they would look different between the additions of liquid. You can tell me if it does or not 😛

Wild Mushroom and Asparagus Risotto

Recipe courtesy Alton Brown, 2005
Show: Good Eats Episode: Do The Rice Thing

Ingredients

* 6 cups chicken broth
* 1 cup dry white wine
* 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
* 1 cup finely chopped onion
* Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
* 2 cups Arborio rice
* 5 ounces wild mushrooms, cooked and coarsely chopped, approximately 3/4 cup
* 7 ounces asparagus, cooked and cut into 1-inch pieces, approximately 1 1/2 cups
* 2 ounces grated Parmesan, approximately 1/2 cup
* 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
* 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

Directions

In an electric kettle or medium saucepan with a lid, combine chicken broth and white wine and heat just to simmering. Keep warm.

In a large 3 to 4-quart heavy saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter. Add the onions and a pinch of salt and sweat until translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the rice and stir. Cook for 3 to 5 minutes or until the grains are translucent around the edges. Be careful not to allow the grains or the onions to brown.

Reduce the heat to low. Add enough of the wine and chicken stock just to cover the top of the rice. Stir or move the pan often, until the liquid is completely absorbed into rice. Once absorbed, add another amount of liquid just to cover the rice and continue stirring or moving as before. There should be just enough liquid left to repeat 1 more time. It should take approximately 35 to 40 minutes for all of the liquid to be absorbed. After the last addition of liquid has been mostly absorbed, add the mushrooms and asparagus and stir until risotto is creamy and asparagus is heated through. Remove from the heat and stir in the Parmesan, lemon zest, and nutmeg. Taste and season, to taste, with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

*Cook’s Note: If fresh wild mushrooms are not available, reconstituted dried mushrooms can be used instead. Place 2 ounces of dried mushrooms into a bowl and cover with warm water. Allow to sit for about 30 minutes or until all the mushrooms are soft and pliable.

*After the first addition of liquid*

*The extras waiting to get mixed in*

*The Chicken Stock/Wine mixture*

*After the 2nd addition of liquid*

*3rd addition of liquid*

*Completed*

*Carter’s plate*

*My Plate*

I loved the way this tasted. It took about an hour for all the liquid to be absorbed properly. While I waited for that to happen, I roasted the asparagus and the mushrooms (I used baby portobello’s because they were on sale at the store) in the oven on 350 degrees F for about 15 minutes. Then I put a chicken breast on that same pan when the veggies were done and cooked that for 20-25 minutes with some olive oil and Montreal Chicken Seasoning on it. The chicken was delicious and I mixed mine into my risotto so that made it even better. I didn’t add the nutmeg to the dish because I really just don’t like nutmeg. I put half as much lemon zest in because the lemon I had only gave me that much. The recipe says to not let the onions or rice to brown at all but my stove is touchy and I ended up browning both just a little bit. It still turned out ok, it just was a little brownish in color and had bits of brown in it. I don’t think it affected the taste of the risotto too much though. It took a long time to make and I think it was worth it. I will probably make this again at some point!

Happy Eating!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2008 in General Food, Meals!

 

Leave a Reply

 
