RSS

Good Eats.

15 Sep

So, after destroying our External Hard Drive tonight I figured I should just update my blog and go to bed.

Last week, Ashlee and I baked cupcakes for no reason at all. I did chocolate with peanut butter chips and some with M&Ms . I iced them white and called it a day.

My mother in law called me the next day and told me that she couldn’t get a ladybug cake for my sister in law’s birthday. I told her I had the cupcakes and I would make them into ladybugs if she wanted me to. She called me back a bit later and said that if I wanted to make the ladybugs I could but she found a cake! So, I decided making ladybugs would be fun. Ashlee and I went to Michaels and we got some spray on red food coloring and some more icing for them. We also picked up some black edible glitter that was pretty cool. We sprayed all the white cupcakes and then added black frosting for the dots and the eyes. The antennae are made of purple melting chocolate we piped onto some wax paper and let set.

They came out really cute but I feel like I can do better so I will try again another time.

Yesterday Ashlee and I decided that since Carter was coming home soon, we should make some good food for him. We made some Chili (which is not done yet so there will be no pics of that right now) and some chicken parmesan meatball subs. Both are Rachael Ray recipes and both are delicious. I changed a few things about both recipes as well.

Chicken Parm Meatball Subs
Adapted from Rachael Ray’s cookbook “2,4,6,8 Great Meals for Couples or Crowds”

1 1/2 pounds ground chicken
1 tablespoon grill seasoning
1 egg, beaten
1 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/2 cup italian-style bread crumbs
a handful of chopped parsley leaves
3 Tbsp EVOO – Extra Virgin Olive Oil – (for liberal drizzling)
4 6-8 inch crusty sub rolls
1 1/2 cups provolone cheese, shredded

(I used mozzarella cheese. I am also not going to put in her recipe for tomato sauce. I suggest you use a can of tomato sauce (plain) seasoned to your preferences. It will be much better than the sauce she wants you to use.)

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

Place the chicken in a bowl and season it with the grill seasoning. Add the egg, half the parmesan cheese, the bread crumbs, parsley, and a serious drizzle of EVOO. Combine the mixture and form 12 large meatballs ( We did ours about the size of golf balls and did NOT flatten them. they cooked pretty fast and we got about 16 meatballs out of it). Place them on a baking sheet (use foil on the baking sheet to make cleanup easy!) Squish the balls into mini oval meat loaf shapes. Be careful not to form the balls wider than your bread. The flattened balls will stay put on your sub, no roll-aways! Bake the meatballs for 15 minutes, or until just golden and firm. Switch the broiler on.

To build your sub, first toast the rolls in the broiler til they are golden. Then add the meatballs to the sauce and stir it around. Place the sauce covered meatballs onto the bread and add the rest of the parmesan and some provolone or mozzarella on top of the meatballs. Stick them back into the broiler until the cheese is melted. Pour the leftover sauce into a bowl and serve for dipping at the table.

Finished product!

Chili pics and recipe to be posted tomorrow! Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 15, 2008 in General Food, Meals!, The Bakery!

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
