RSS

Cuppycakes!

03 Sep

So for the last thing I made while Alegni was here, I decided to go easy. I made some Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes from my A Bakers Field Guide to Cupcakes book. I did it the easy way however and used a nice Betty Crocker yellow cake mix. Do yourself a favor and just follow the directions on the back of the box. I will post the recipe for the pineapple topping and if anyone is interested in the cupcake batter recipe the book gives, I can type that up for you if you message me!

Pineapple topping:
6 Tablespoons (3/4 of a stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
2 cups canned pineapple chunks packed in juice, drained
9 maraschino cherries, halved

Heavily coat the insides of one 12 cup and one 6 cup cupcake tin with nonstick cooking spray.
Melt the butter and sugar in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir occasionally until the sugar bubbles. Divide the sugar amongst the cupcake wells.
Slice each fan shaped chunk of pineapple in half so that you end up with thinner fan shaped chunks. Place 4 of these pieces evenly over the butter sugar mixture with the broader rounded part of the fan along the rounded edge of the well. Press half a cherry, rounded side down, into the center.
Divide the cupcake batter evenly over the pineapple topping. Bake for 17 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool on pans on top of racks for 5 minutes. (I did this with the first pan and some of the sugar and pineapple stayed in the pans… I would wait 8 minutes or so before trying to take them out. ) Run a small icing spatula or thin bladed knife around cupcakes and invert over a jelly roll type pan. If any of the topping sticks to the tins, simply remove with a spoon and place on top of cupcakes. Cupcakes are now ready to serve.

I love these cupcakes. They are the most delicious ones that I have made lately for sure. I love how different they are and how pretty they come out, even when the topping sticks to the bottom of the pan and I have to spoon it out!

From Food!
From Food!

I forgot to say that I added a 1/2 cup of coconut to the cake mix!! If you use a boxed cake mix, you will have 6 more cupcakes as well. I just put liners in the 2nd 6 wells on the 2nd pan and bake off the cupcakes that way. They are pretty good, even without icing. If you want to, you can try to do the math and make more of the pineapple topping than the recipe calls for. The coconut goes really well with the pineapple topping tho!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 3, 2008 in General Food, The Bakery!

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Cuppycakes!

  1. cookies recipes

    September 29, 2008 at 8:16 am

    great recipes thanks for share i’m looking for this

     

Leave a Reply

 
