RSS

Home again.

17 Jul

Well, we are home again and I decided that after cleaning the house all day, I didn’t want to cook anything. However, the guys in the IRC convinced me that I should make pasta with sauce for dinner. I took a can of diced tomatoes and a tiny can of sauce and added some oregano, 3 cloves of fresh garlic, 2 yellow tomatoes from our garden, 2 green bell peppers from our garden and let it cook for about 20 minutes. It was at that point that I decided that I should try adding some of our new dried Gourmet Mushroom (porcini, oyster, brazilian, ivory portabellas, and shiitake) mix to the sauce. I rehydrated them according to the directions on the canister and added them to the sauce. They cooked in the sauce for a good 5 minutes. I figured the angel hair was done cooking so the sauce should be pretty well done as well. It all tasted fantastic but the mushrooms definitely needed to be soaked longer. Some were perfect and others were still sorta hard and weird tasting. All in all, topped with mozzarella and parmesan, the pasta dish was awesome enough for me to try making it again.
Here are some pics of this easy pasta dish!

Pasta cooking:

Sauce cooking:

The finished product!

Gourmet Mushroom Blend:

I am going to need some mushroom recipes for this baby!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 17, 2008 in General Food, Meals!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
