RSS

Pudding cookies: Attempt #2

23 Apr

I attempted to make some M&M cookies following a recipe I found on Pinterest. I am not sure if I did something wrong or not but they didn’t come out at all like the photo. There were way too many M&Ms and chocolate chips leftover in the bottom of the bowl that didn’t get mixed in with the dough. There just wasn’t enough dough to incorporate them all. The cookies were ok, but they didn’t flatten out and they were WAY too sweet to eat more than one. You could definitely taste the vanilla pudding mix in it even though there was only 3 tablespoons in it. I followed the recipe exactly (I think) so I am not sure what happened to make them not flatten out.

That recipe can be found here: Perfect M&M cookies

Photo of my cookies:
365: Picture 94

So, I found another recipe on Pinterest for pudding cookies. I decided to give them a try because the recipe was pretty different from the first one. I am really glad that I did. These didn’t flatten out either BUT they are way less sweet than the first ones. The only change I made to the recipe is that I used half a bag of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and the rest of the bag of mini-M&Ms I had from the first batch. I think it was about half a cup of them. The only thing I would change is: I didn’t use salted butter (because I like to use unsalted – you can control the salt in the recipe that way) but the recipe called for it so there was no salt. They tasted a little flat so I sprinkled a tiny bit of Kosher salt on top of the other pans of cookies before I baked them. Next time, I will add a 1/2 tsp of salt to the mix before I portion them out.

Mini M&M cookies
Adapted from this recipe: Double Chocolate Pudding Cookies

Ingredients:
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
3.4 oz pkg instant vanilla pudding mix
2 eggs (at room temp)
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
6oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup Mini M&Ms
1/2 tsp salt

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Cream together butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add in the dry pudding mix and vanilla.
Beat in one egg at a time.
In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Whisk til combined, then slowly stir into the wet ingredients. Add in the chocolate chips and M&Ms. Do not mix too much because the M&Ms will break apart if they get bashed around too much
Spoon the cookies out using a tablespoon. I got about 12 to a pan. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Pull them from the oven when the tops start to look slightly browned. If they go longer than that, they end up being a little bit dry.

Recipe makes 4 dozen tablespoon sized cookies.

Photos:
Pudding cookies!

Pudding cookies!

I can’t wait to try these with different flavors of pudding! So exciting. :D

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 23, 2013 in The Bakery!

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

