RSS

Cupcakes!

17 Jun

I asked Carter what to bake today because we were running low on Snickerdoodles. He said the guys at the rig really liked the vanilla cupcakes with Reese’s peanut butter cups in the middle I made a while back. I decided to check outto see if she had a good chocolate cupcake with peanut butter filling. It turns out that she does! The recipe she had was for a rich chocolate cake and ganache with a peanut butter filling. I was looking for something a bit lighter in the cake department. I didn’t want to have the guys eating really rich cake and not having any milk to wash it down with. I found another recipe for devil’s food cake and chocolate buttercream on her website. So, I made those cupcakes and frosting and added the peanut butter filling from the original recipe.

I took the peanut butter recipe from this one:  http://cupcakeblog.com/?p=41
And the cupcakes and frosting from this one:  http://cupcakeblog.com/?p=10

The cakes came out perfectly light and chocolatey. I used Hershey’s cocoa and I know that is like, sinful to say but, I really like Hershey’s chocolate. For the frosting, I used Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa. It made the frosting have a greyish brown tint but it tasted so damn good. There was just enough frosting to do all 24 cupcakes and the 6 mini ones I ended up making as well. Next time, I will use a little more than the 1/4 cup of milk it calls for. Carter said he liked that the frosting was pretty stiff so I didn’t add any more this time. It didn’t end up as shiny and smooth as I wanted it to be. Since I don’t have much experience making cupcakes and frosting from scratch, I tried to follow the directions exactly as they were written.
The peanut butter filling was super easy and came out tasting JUST like the filling for a Reese’s peanut butter cup. I didn’t measure out my milk for that because in the blog, Chockylit says that she should have added more milk to make the filling more smooth and soft. I just eyeballed it until it looked like it would be delicious and soft.

Once the cupcakes were cool, I used an apple corer to take the center of the cupcakes out. Don’t go all the way to the bottom of the wrapper, just take off the top and some of the middle. I don’t bother putting the top back on to cover the filling because it just gets covered with frosting anyways! ;-) I put about a teaspoon or so of the peanut butter filling into each cupcake and topped it with a lighter coating of frosting. Then I used a mini Mini Reese’s peanut butter cup. They came out adorably awesome. I tasted the pieces of them as I went along but I haven’t tasted them all together yet. I can’t imagine they won’t be delicious though!

Pictures!

I highly recommend anything you find on her website. I have made the cherry vanilla cupcakes with vanilla buttercream, Horchata cupcakes, and the 3-vanilla cupcakes. I also did the chocolate cupcakes with the strawberry chocolate ganache filling and cream cheese buttercream. They all have been pretty amazing despite my newbie tendencies. They don’t look as nice as the ones on her website but they taste amazing! Looks will come with practice for me.

Thanks to Chockylit and her wonderful blog!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 17, 2011 in The Bakery!

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

