RSS

Failed Lasagna, Awesome Brownies

08 Jan

So, I decided that I wanted to try this lasagna recipe that looked amazing in photos and in theory. It turned out to be not so awesome, even though it looked exactly like the pics from the website. A little word to the wise: Just use cheese. Beschamel sauce is shitty and makes the entire lasagna taste like cooked milk (think pudding without the sweetness from flavorings)
The recipe can be found here (maybe you can try it and it will come out better?): Mediterranean Greek Vegetarian Lasagna

Pictures!

Really good greek salad! :D

I made the brownies before I made the Lasagna but I wanted to get that abomination out of the way in the beginning of the post. These have to be some of the best brownies ever and I totally overcooked them. I used my brownie pan that has the insert but its only an 8×8 pan and the recipe called for a 9×13 pan. I ended up overcooking the outside brownies while the insides were still a bit raw. They still taste awesome though. I could not find any instant espresso powder so I got some instant coffee instead. It worked the way it was supposed to and the brownies tasted rich and delicious. These brownies were recommended by a Shacker (multisync)and his girlfriend, who writes a fantastic food blog called Amy Blogs Chow I had promised them I would make the brownies this past weekend and just never got around to it. I was so happy that I made them last night because after that failed lasagna, I needed the pick-me-up that only chocolate can provide :D The recipe originally came from BAKED in Brooklyn, NY (BakedNYC.com) and the recipe can be found HERE.

Pictures!

My webcam setup while waiting for the chocolate to melt

So the brownies and salad came out awesome but the lasagna was an EPIC FAIL. I hate when that happens :( I don’t know what to do with all this leftover lasagna. I don’t want to give it to anyone because it’s so bad.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 8, 2010 in General Food, Meals!, The Bakery!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Failed Lasagna, Awesome Brownies

  1. Amy Blogs Chow

    January 8, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Hi, Galadriel! Sorry to read the lasagna didn’t come out so well, cause it LOOKS delicious – and there’s so much of it! So happy that the salad and brownies were a success though. 2 out of 3 are good odds. I actually screwed up two brownie batches earlier in the week (used another recipe and did not have correct type of sugar both times) before getting the Baked brownies right. Well, you win some, you lose some. Thank you for the shout-out! Happy New Year! Keep posting and Jason + I will keep reading :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

